Traveling solo is the way to go

Traveling alone can be daunting and nerve-racking at times, but everyone should go on a solo trip at least once in their lives. It’s surprising how much difference it makes to go somewhere with a friend than to go on your own – in the latter situation you discover much more about yourself and the place you’re visiting.

pepe

The first time that I truly traveled by myself to a place without knowing anyone there was when I visited southern France last May. I had wanted to go to southern France the entire time I was studying abroad in Spain, and it never seemed to work out when I tried to coordinate with other friends in the area. So in the end, I decided to go by myself. Since southern France is relatively safe, there really was no other deterrent besides my own fear of traveling alone for a week, and the fact that I could barely speak French. But it turned out to be one of my best travel experiences. Obviously the breathtaking beauty of the Provençal towns and the amazing beaches that dotted the French Riviera helped a lot, but what made it so unique was simply meeting other travelers from around the world and hearing their stories. If you want an equally fulfilling experience, here are some advice and tips that could apply to any of you solo travelers!

  • Stay at hostels and make friends! No matter how much you hate to share a room with random strangers, staying at a well-established hostel is the best way to avoid the nagging feeling of loneliness. There’s a good chance that you’ll meet plenty of English-speaking solo travelers who are just as eager to meet other people. When I was in Marseille and Nice, all the other people in my rooms were traveling on their own too. On one of the days in Marseille, I went to a coastal town called Cassis with two other Americans and a Brazilian that I had only met the night before in the hostel. It was a very spontaneous day trip, and even though we barely knew each other, there was something about being on the road alone that made us all feel very comfortable and natural about the social setting. Also, good hostels usually organize fun events such as pub crawls and free walking tours, both of which give you the perfect opportunity to be touristy and socialize at the same time!
DSC04096

Cassis and its beachgoers

  • This is a given, but it is even more important for solo travelers to do research beforehand! Little things such as how to get from the airport to the city center, and then to the hostel are essential to know before you embark on your journey. Always look up on the safety of your destination and information about the surrounding area of your accommodation. Read up on relevant blogs and plan accordingly. Always try to book hostels that are close to a transportation hub and to restaurants and grocery stores, the latter of which is especially useful if you are staying longer and want to cook your meals. As for what attractions to check out, I’ve found that Hostel World’s free pocket travel guides are very handy for solo travelers, though they’re only available for a handful of cities.
  • Make the most of your train and bus rides! They are often the best times to get travel-related information from local sources (if there is no language barrier). For example, I once went on a solo day trip from Salamanca to Avila, another UNESCO Heritage Site in the region. During the one-hour bus ride, I casually struck up a conversation with the Spanish girl sitting next to me, who was a student from Avila studying at the University of Salamanca. She gave me a ton of great suggestions on what sites to visit given my time constraint, and I eventually met two of my closest Spanish friends through her. So like I said before, you never know what a conversation with a friendly-looking stranger may turn into!
DSC00497

The medieval, walled city of Avila

  • Don’t stick to an itinerary! Although it’s necessary to do research, it’s important to keep an open mind in terms of what you’re going to do the next day. What makes traveling by yourself such a unique experience is that it’s entirely up to you to decide what you want to do. My day trip to Cassis with the three other people at my hostel was completely unexpected, since the Brazilian girl only asked that morning if I wanted to join. Same goes for my pit stop at Villefranche-sur-Mer when I was on the train from Monaco to Nice. On the way to Monaco, I had looked out the window when the train stopped at Villefranche-sur-Mer, and I was completely mesmerized by the turquoise-blue water reflecting against the sunlight along its stunning beach. So on the way back, I decided I would spend an hour or two there before heading back to Nice. As someone who usually prefers to plan everything ahead of time, a bit of spontaneity made my southern France adventures all the more memorable.
E5934-Villefranche-sur-Mer-Pullmantur-Cruises

Even though this is from Google images, I swear this is exactly how Villefranche-sur-Mer looked from the train

  • Have a couple meals at an actual restaurant. One of the hardest parts about traveling on your own is working out your meals. In other words, who are you going to eat with? It’s fine to buy groceries and make food at the hostel with other people, or get sandwiches and paninis on the go when you’re out, but after a few days you’ll start longing for a meal at one of those restaurants you always pass by. Believe me, I completely understand. But even if you have no one to eat with, try to find a restaurant that you would feel at ease having a meal by yourself. For one of my dinners in Nice, I found a nice Italian restaurant with outdoor seating by a water fountain in Old Town Nice. I felt very comfortable sitting there by myself as I indulged in the sights and smells of the bustling, restaurants-filled square. If that’s still too weird for you, ask the receptionist at your hostel for some communal dining suggestions. These are restaurants with larger tables where it’s easier to socialize with other people – perfect for hungry solo travelers yearning for some company!
DSC04305

The square in Vieux Nice where I had my last dinner in southern France

Traveling solo is in no way easy (I can’t imagine being one of those people who travel solo for months on end), but if you keep all these tips in mind and embrace it with an open mind and an adventurous spirit, there’s no doubt that you’ll come back with some of the most unexpected, self-enriching experiences.

I’ll leave you with a video that features one of my favorite travel bloggers, Kate McCulley, providing tips for solo female travelers. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Traveling solo is the way to go

  1. this was a GREAT post. and dare I say, inspirational. traveling on my own is something i’ve never considered but your tips may now be my guiding light to seeing the world. love hostels! great tip

  2. This may have been the most useful blog post I have read all semester. I am terrified of traveling alone. Terrified. But I have always wanted to do it- I feel like you would be so much more immersed in whatever culture you are visiting!
    It is nice to see that someone else has done it and had a good experience!
    Thanks for all the tips as well!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Maria Guzenko

ATA-Certified Russian Healthcare Translator

jiria

WELCOME TO MY BLENDED WORLD

Hiking Taiwan

A guide to hiking and all things outdoors in Taiwan

life to reset

drifting, exploring, surviving

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

APO Theta Chi's Service Blog

How Theta Chi Does Service

Nomad Notions

Tales of Expat Living, Teaching, and Tramping in Taiwan and Beyond.

Holiday places

Holiday destinations

Senior Year Bucket List

Accomplishing everything DC has to offer in 4 months

Art by Ken

The works and artistic visions of Ken Knieling.

sights & thoughts

OBSERVATIONS ON THE WORLD

GW Brazilian Club

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Flying Gypset

the travels, tips and tales of a modern jetsetting gypsy